jump to navigation

Dumai-Bukitinggi ~1450km 2010/05/31

Posted by altsport in Hitchhiking.
trackback

After almost a sleepless night I went to Indonesia. It took 3 hours and not promised 1:45. Though probably because of the weather. Was a little stormy. In Dumai I got visa on arrival 25$, didn’t pay in ringgits, though planned, because they asked 30 more than what was needed. Later I tried exchanging 85 ringgits I had in the town. Banks were no good, but I was directed to one money changer with a decent exchange rate at that 🙂 So far so good if not constant shouts “hey mister” or “where you go”. Really irritating stuff. Sometimes you would have to react to 4-5 different directions from where those shouts come, which I do not do, but I still indulge some random people’s curiosity when I have the mood. Anyway, from Dumai I planned to go to Lake Toba, so I hitchhiked that way. At first day I ended up in Duri’s local market, where I spent the night and have been treated to some vegetable and fruit products, they sell. When I arrived I was totally surrounded by market people 😀 Next day I was waiting for some ride in the direction of the Lake Toba, which was promised to me. But only some time later I found out that the person didn’t know when exactly he’d be going and if it is that day. So I went to hitchhike again.

Roads in Indonesia are narrow and of poor condition. I often got rides on trucks and they constantly had troubles on them because of their size, so my travel speed wasn’t all that fast. People whom I met and got some rides off always would treat me to some dinner, coffee or snack 🙂 In general they are friendly and very helpful, and fun too 🙂 At one time I ended up in Tebingtingi town, where I was invited by English teacher Andi to his friends and later family’s places. It was first time meeting an English speaker in Indonesia, so I enjoyed this one 🙂 Then I got a ride with Eduard to Parapat. Though that day we ended up in Balige, where he rented a hotel room, oh and of course he also treated me to a dinner. He also advised me on going to Samosir island in the middle of Lake Toba by ferry, which cost 4000 rupiahs. So I did next day, when Eduard drove me to Parapat early in the morning. On the ferry I just got to be in the center of attention and a lot of photos were made too. When I got on Samosir island I didn’t even have much desire to hitchhike from it, because nature and mountains around me were amazing.

But I did go on, though got stuck at one time in a traffic jam caused by election company of people driving on motorcycles, cars, trucks and all with banners, shouts and music 😀 This of course was fun and all, but later because of those elections people would misunderstand me hitchhiking, because all the hand signs here were interpreted now as you supporting some candidate 😀 Well I managed to get away finally from the island, but ended up that time on some dead road with no traffic for half an hour. Got first car to stop which appeared though. Now I was heading to waterfall by a funny name of Sipisopiso. During my trip there I met with Mathiah and Natalia. They treated me to a dinner and with Natalia we had a nice conversation. Later she would even give me some stuff to resupply my food 😀 At the waterfall entrance I payed 2000 rupiahs and went down to get a closer look. It was raining, but people who were coming back from a waterfall seemed just too wet, so I was expecting to become such myself. Lots of people met on the way and lots of facebook contacts exchanged and photos made. Waterfall itself was an amazing sight and had feel of coolness. Enjoyed it a lot ^^/ When I have finished with getting wet I got up the mountain again and started hitchhiking, now in the direction of Bukittingi. Second to last ride was with a big and fun family going with 3 cars. When I got off it was 8 pm and I still wanted to hitchhike, so I stopped a truck and had a ride to Siborongborong, where I got to camp first time in Indonesia. Before I would just sleep at the places provided by people and not farther than 5 or 6 am 😀

Next day was just hitchhiking to Bukittingi. For breakfast I had “Lebuh” – rice in a bamboo stick with some damn tasty sauce as well 🙂 This day I got a lot of rides on trucks, which were slow. At one time got stuck in traffic jam on a muddy mountain road, where trucks had exceptionally hard time to ascent the steep road. I arrived to Bukittingi at 3 am next day. Didn’t bother with the tent, just waited around eating peanuts to kill the time till some internet cafe opens up. And one did at 6 am. It’s the start of the 6’th day in Indonesia and I like it very much. Nature is awesome and people are friendly. If only there would be less of a language problem.. Right now I only know some few words and phrases to help me with hitchhiking.

Photo: click

Comments»

1. Sania - 2010/05/31

krasivaja fotka s vodopadom

2. Sable - 2010/05/31

aga 😀

3. Anonymous - 2010/06/02

aha as irgi pritariu, grazi foto. X)

4. Tsu - 2010/06/02

mjo cia as tas anonimas XD siaip kazkaip graziau viskas atrodo. Kaip tavo nuotaika po tiek keliones? ketini kur nors ilgiau stoti pailseti?

5. Sable - 2010/06/05

Ilsejausi Malaizijoj savaite. Dabar keliauju labiau. Bet porai dienu gal pas kuri nors couchsurfingeri apsistosiu pailset.


Leave a comment